skip to content | skip to navigation

graphics version | text version

Read our School Blog

Key Stage 2

Currently there are six classes in Key Stage 2. The classes are called:

  • Elm
  • Fern
  • Maple
  • Rowan
  • Sycamore
  • Willow

All the classes are mixed ages across the 7 to 11 age range.

The children in Elm and Fern classes follow a sensory based curriculum. There is also a higher pupil to staff ratio in these two classes which reflects the needs of the children.

In the other four classes the children are grouped according to their needs and ability.

Literacy and Maths take place each morning and are taught by the class teacher. The foundation subjects are organized on a subject specialism timetable. This enables teachers to focus on a smaller number of subjects which they deliver across the Key Stage, it also ensures high quality subject knowledge and teaching.

The children in Key Stage 2 have plenty of opportunities to access educational visits to enrich the curriculum.


Using a control device in ICT.
Grouping objects in maths.

Outdoor learning activities.
Copying writing patterns.

I am proud of my work in maths.
Enjoying number activities.

Looking at pictures in a reading book..